The Jannali High School logo

The Jannali High School

The Jannali High School


Telephone02 9521 2805

Learning at our school

The Jannali High School provides each and every student with a quality education. Excellence and opportunity are important school values. Students are rewarded and recognised for their endeavours and high achievement.

The competitive arena awaits students with the chance to excel in public speaking, debating, web design, student newspapers, environmental management and much more. Keep up to date with all the state-wide competitions that are running this year.

Transdisciplinary learning skills at The Jannali High School

Transdisciplinary learning skills at The Jannali High School

The Jannali High School (TJHS) sought to strengthen students’ transferrable skills to enhance their learning in school as well as building life-long learning skills to support success in future careers. The introduction of a 1:1 device program both created further need and enabled the introduction of the ‘21st Century Learning Skills’ program for stage 4.

TJHS developed programs for fortnightly sessions in each of three transdisciplinary areas – social skills, information literacy and pedagogical skills. The program has evolved in response to changing student needs and technologies.

The program has been successful in supporting year 7 transition by enhancing students’ ability to learn how to learn and talk about their learning using a common language. The program has also seen student growth in all transdisciplinary areas the program targets for skills development – collaboration, communication, social skills, information literacy and ICT literacy.

Download the document here to read the full story of transdisciplinary learning at The Jannali High School.

Find out more about what your child will learn at our school.

The NSW Education Standards Authority (NESA) is responsible for the curriculum, Kindergarten to Year 12, for all NSW schools.

For the high school years, NESA develops syllabuses for all subjects in 8 key learning areas:

  • creative arts
  • English
  • human society and its environment (HSIE)
  • languages
  • mathematics
  • personal development, health and physical education (PDHPE)
  • science
  • technological and applied studies (TAS).

NSW schools also offer special religious education and special education in ethics via approved providers, where available.

Like all NSW schools, we have developed teaching and learning programs to suit our local context and the needs of our students.

To learn more about the curriculum in NSW, visit:

Stages of learning

There are 6 stages of learning from Kindergarten to Year 12. High school covers Stages 4 to 6.

  • Stage 4 includes Years 7 and 8.
  • Stage 5 includes Years 9 and 10.
  • Stage 6 includes Years 11 and 12.

Related content